Experiment with a Person of Truth: 2011

 

This year I’ve been having a tricky time trying to come up with some new Experiments with Truth.
The other day, I was at Gramma’s and I realized that instead of me trying to come up with creative and unique goals on my own…I should just adopt some from someone I respect, love and aspire to be like.
My GRAMMA!

Here are a few of the things my Gramma does that make me want to be a better person.  These are the things that I’m going to try and accomplish in the upcoming year…although, I fully realize that she’s had well over 80 years of practice…I’m going to begin the process of becoming like Gramma.

1.) Strength. 
My Gramma has always been a woman of strength in my life.  She faces new tasks with will and courage…she NEVER quits until it’s done.  Even in the littlest things like helping with the dishes. 
My Gramma had spent over 60 years with her best friend, faithful partner and helper in life.  My Grampa passed away 2 years ago and it was a really difficult time for all of us…and particularly my Grams.  But she did not let this get her down.  In fact, the other day she mentioned to me that she knows she will see him again…and until then she will keep living and delight in the things in her world.  She has taken on new jobs around the house (that my Grampa would’ve otherwise done), she has comforted friends in their times of grief, and she has a more active social life than I do.
My Gramma’s strength and “no fear” attitude towards life has inspired me…and will always.

This year, I want to go into new life experiences, adventures, careers and relationships with no fear and incredible strength.

2.) Joy

 For the last two years my mom and I have taken my Gramma and her sister, Pauline on a trip (just a little trip to Picton and Kincardin).  On these trips, I’ve absolutely LOVED being in the presence of pure joy.  My Great-Aunt Pauline also lost her husband a number of years ago…to see them choose life, joy, and wonder is something I hope to do this year.

3.) Selflessness

Both my grandparents have taught me this and have been great examples of other-centredness.  My Gramma drives around almost every day taking her friends and neighbours to their appointments, to the grocery store, out for pizza lunches and tim horton’s honey cruellers.  She generously gives her resources, material items, money, love, time, all without expectation.
This year, I want to work at giving all I have…to whoever I can, wherever I can. 

4.) Belief
My Gramma’s faith in God is incredible.  She mentioned the other day that she reads at least 8 chapters a day of the Bible.  She’s read the Bible at least once a year…crazy eh?!
This has very little to do with legalism and more to do with her undying trust, love and faith in God.  She loves learning and talking about God and who He is and has been in her life.
One a completely separate note, my Gramma believes in me.  She encourages me, strengthens me, supports me and BELIEVES in me.
My Gramma has mentioned many times how proud she is that I’m going to Teacher’s College.  She has always supported any adventures I’ve taken in life, be it camp, youth, trips to other places in the world.  Similarly, my Gramma has loved me through a broken heart and consistently points her finger in my direction and believes that “he’ll come”.  She prays for her family and friends every day and believes in the power of God and how it can impact the world…and does impact the world.

I hope to find or continue belief in myself, in others, in the world, in God.

On a more practical note I would like to:
1.) run a 10km
2.) further develop my squash skills.
3.) write a letter to a friend once a month
4.) to take a picture (if I can find a working camera) once a week of something that inspires me.
5.) to take two risks…preferrably big risks…but, I’m not going to be picky.

Here’s to 2011 and becoming more like Gramma!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Experiment with a Person of Truth: 2011

  1. ashamelessagitator

    I’m running another 10 km in the spring, haven’t picked which one yet but I’d love the company 🙂

Leave a comment